Cancer: Sign of Motherhood

I stood beneath her outstretched arms

looking up in awe

at gnarled joints –

signifying the strength of her determination

to go on…

despite all harsh conditions

She fought to endure

Unyielding, lofty –

season after persistent season.

Reaching toward the heavens,

Finding rest.

I am her child.
I  still call her sacred.

my mom, nurturer
belonging to her was bliss
always protected

deceptive tough shell
get closer and inspect her
soft spot on inside

the cancer took her
she was never crabby though
out of body now

____________________________________________________________________________________________

© 2013 jody love

____________________________________________________________________________________________

I’ve got a few things going on this week, which I hope blended together in harmony. First, I’ve committed to writing a poetic post each day for NaPoWriMo.

Secondly, during the first part of the month of April, I’m trying to participate in Carpe Diem, whose prompts focus on The Zodiac. The April 1st prompt was simply on The Zodiac, in general. April 6th’s prompt takes us further into the Zodiac to – Cancer (the crab).

My mother is the only Cancer I can think of with whom I have ever been close, and that was for but a short-lived time – but it was glorious while it lasted!

With that last important piece of information, when I saw the image prompt this week for Friday Fictioneers, it all fit well together in my head (which, admittedly, can be a very strange-fitting puzzle – I believe it was but a couple of days of ago in which I received a comment that my blog site was something akin to a Rubik’s cube).

____________________________________________________________________________________________

RELATED ARTICLES:

21 thoughts on “Cancer: Sign of Motherhood

  1. I’m at a loss for words knowing you lost your mother…and to cancer. Wonderful tribute to her spirit in your haiku. I do like the second haiku for the personality attributes in general. That soft spot inside…

  2. Thanks Jody, I love to read all your thoughts and I do like this one a lot. My mom was never in good health and never complained.

  3. That was lovely, I felt like the tree was a metaphor and the poem was a personal tribute. I don’t know much about poetry, but I know that I liked that. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Cervus lacessitus Leo | humanTriumphant

  5. Pingback: Carpe Diem Haiku: Virgo (the maiden) | humanTriumphant

  6. Pingback: Carpe Diem: Tipping Libra’s Scales | humanTriumphant

  7. Pingback: Carpe Diem: Love’s Sting of Alchemy (Scorpio in Haiku) | humanTriumphant

  8. Pingback: Carpe Diem: Sagittarius (the centaur/archer) | humanTriumphant

  9. Pingback: Capricornucopia | humanTriumphant

  10. Pingback: Aging of Aquarius | humanTriumphant

  11. Pingback: Picking a (Pair of) Pisces | humanTriumphant

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...