Capricornucopia

Sorry, folks…I’ve got nothing for Capricorn – short of always wondering what the heck it’s supposed to be??? From there, my inspiration arises…

Oh, Capricorny:
Your sign strikes me as…thorny
Goat with fishy tail?!

Perplexing you are.
What did man see in your star?
You’ve got my sea goat…

A mascot? You’re not!
Who would you intimidate?
Sea kelp? Or this whelp?

A new name you need.
Cornucopia, I see!
Would have served you best.

cornucopia

My apologies to you Capricornians (? Capriconicians? Capricornucopians?) – surely you can appreciate my problem here in trying to identify you! You are…unique.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

© 2013 jody love

_______________________________________________________________________

During the first half of April, Carpe Diem’s haiku prompts have focused on The Zodiac. The April 1st prompt was simply on The Zodiac, in general. Since then, we’ve traveled nearly the 360 degrees through the zodiacal circumference. Today’s prompt moves us to the 10th sign – Capricorn, the, er…sea goat?

I was once a well-respected haikuist until I landed here. (Not really…I’ve never officially been either a haikuist or well-respected.) Hope you enjoy my silly stint with what I surely hope is a mythical creature!

RELATED ARTICLES:

8 thoughts on “Capricornucopia

  1. I feel your pain and giggle at your humorous attempts. Capricornians does sound better. Like California surfers. Maybe that’s what goat wanted to do. Sky surf?

    • That may be one of the nicest compliments I’ve ever received. Here’s one of his to which I refer when considering my jodyisms: “She generally gave herself very good advice, (though she very seldom followed it).” 🙂

  2. Pingback: Aging of Aquarius | humanTriumphant

  3. Pingback: Picking a (Pair of) Pisces | humanTriumphant

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...