Weekly Photo Challenge: Gone but Not Forgotten

This week’s Daily Post challenge was to show something that was lost, but not forgotten.


I can’t help but think that portraits so often provide meaning of a lost past that keeps us from forgetting the people, the period, the places, the passion of another time.

That being said, I’ve included a photo I snapped from an old digital camera that I took to the Holy Land with me.
This is the Matriarch portion of the mosaic rug in the living area of a mansion in Zippori (Sepphoris/Tzipori), in the Galilee region of Israel. I left it unedited, rather than attempting to enhance any of the faded colors from centuries of lasting wear.
Somehow, I just appreciate it more that way.

1927910_36607683226_6401_n

The woman in this portrait is sometimes referenced as the Mona Lisa of Galilee.
I’m sure she holds her own set of stories and secrets behind those eyes.

Yet, to tell you the truth, I’m much more intrigued with the mosaic artists who could’ve put such a tedious & long-lasting portrait together.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Gone but Not Forgotten

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

