Ode to the Fellow in Yellow

When considering what season we’re now in, I first thought of the Power of Pollination.
(It’s been so cold this year, that’s the only way we can recognize Spring.)

Then I remembered…
Prom season is preparing to pompously parade upon us.

Just to prove that Pollen isn’t the only thing that comes in yellow this time of year…
I thought I’d share this great prom photo of one of my colleagues and her date
from a few years past.

(When I put out a call for old prom pics – of which I, myself, never went –
Lori was the only one to respond, God bless her!
I thought I’d bless her – and her date, Tim – with an ode to their tropical evening of days past.)

Ode to the Fellow in Yellow

Mellow is the fellow who dares to wear yellow,
Ne’er to be mistook for a scoundrel in the bordello,
Nor a violent man of passion, such as was that guy, Othello.
Though he might often be a comic as that jokester was, Costello…
He plays his women smooth and strong, as if he were a cello.

yellow_prom

My good friend, Lori – and her prom date, Tim
(who, btw, did give me permission to post these cute pics)

3 thoughts on “Ode to the Fellow in Yellow

  1. That dress is beautiful. It is really springlike. You really carry off the colour. I’m slightly envious as we didn’t have proms here when I was young.

    I’ve been talking to Thomas Marlowe and we are both missing the Trifecta Challenge. One thing led to another and we have decided to set up Light and Shade Challenge where there are prompts twice every week and a chance to share what inspiration strikes.

    We are not trying to be the same as Trifecta. They were awesome and I miss them. We do have some really exciting ideas of our own, though and can’t wait to see what happens. It would be great if you could come and join us and see where this journey takes us. Good writers are always welcome. If you have any questions then get in touch either on the Light and Shade Challenge Blog http://lightandshadechallenge.blogspot.co.uk/ or on the Facebook page. It would be wonderful to hear from you. Lyssa M x

    • Thanks so much for the info, Lyssa. I’ll very much look forward to joining you all when I’m out of the final dissertation push. (That’s actually my friend in the photo from her prom of years past – but she does make a lovely Southern belle! 😉 )

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

