Ese’s Shoot & Quote Challenge: My Outdoor Appalachian Obsession

The lovely Ese has issued another Weekly Shoot & Quote Challenge:

Prompt 10 – OBSESSION

I only have one obsession – not to be boring. -M.Hazanavicius

Were I to re-quote this in my own words, I might possibly say, “I only have one obsession…not to be bored!” Haha!

And I never find the beauty in my part of the world boring. I love my mountains especially, and am blessed to have them stretching out before me from the time I’m stretching out of bed in the morning. To climb to the top of one of them is like reaching for a tiny piece of my own personal heaven. No, they’re not the sharp peaks found in other parts of the world or even other parts of my country. You can have your sharp, treacherous high sky rises. I’ll continue to be respectful of my elderly mountains – the rolling Appalachians, patiently meandering along the border of my world in an ever-inviting southern fashion.

Yesterday, I hiked to one of the highest summits we have, named Mount LeConte. It’s always amazing to me how different the experience, depending on the trail(s) selected and the time of year. This being October, it was crisp and cool and colorful. My last trip up was in January, where we ran into 12-18″ of snow as we ascended, along with a miserable, cutting wind and no visualization (and a need to reroute quickly via the cables down the icy Alum Cave trail, due to a nasty unanticipated snowstorm). Not so yesterday. The view was spectacular – at least until the Smokies decided they needed to live up to their name once more. We came out about an hour and a half after sunset this time, simply because I couldn’t bear to leave the summit once we’d arrived, knowing I wouldn’t be back for another fabulous fall season for at least another year.

One thought on “Ese’s Shoot & Quote Challenge: My Outdoor Appalachian Obsession

  1. I can see you have had a wonderful time up there! Being absolutely fascinated/obsessed with mountains, I really enjoyed your interpretation of the prompt (and the quote, too 🙂 ).

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

