Ligo-Haibun Challenge: Mud-luscious & puddle-wonderful


The PROMPT:- The world is mud-luscious and puddle-wonderful  – E.E. Cummings

I’m not sure when it happened. Somewhere, somehow, I forgot I had the gift. Early on, I was certain I was a gourmet chef when my father allowed me to graduate from heating hot tamales in a can for dinner to making scrambled eggs for the first time. At 7, these became my specialty, oozing with cheese.

So gone were the days of lesser dishes now, such as the reheating of frozen sausage and biscuits for breakfast, or the stirring of my father’s favorite delicacy – crunched saltine crackers in ice-cold milk, a side of salty sardines with the lid already peeled back.

One day, in a lightening’s flash, it all came back to me though. I walked outside, beckoned by bass drummers playing my song. My skin felt tingly to the invitation to join in, to dance and sing, to play to this tune. Within minutes, my feet stomped and splashed and squished to the rhythm, laughter erupting as my best friend joined me there.

In that moment, my memory was fully restored. My hands dug into soft dough, confidently mixing selected ingredients around. Within mere seconds, my masterpiece was completed for the offering.

taste buds never lie /
I present you my earth pie /
chocolate, I’d say

***

7 thoughts on “Ligo-Haibun Challenge: Mud-luscious & puddle-wonderful

  1. Wonderfully detailed/intricate – and I found the bass drumming part quite sensual!
    The concept of ‘memory restored is a very literary way of putting it, and I really think this is one of the best fitting haiku to prose I have read in a while. I t is always a pleasure to read your pieces Jody. There is that teasing with the reader, the humanity and purpose to each piece.

  2. Pingback: Ligo Haibun Challenge – Honorable Mentions and more! | TheWhyAboutThis

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

