My Playground Trilogy

It’s been a weekend full of events, both of the positive and the negative sort. That being said, it’s nice to have a few moments to take a quick break from “the real world” to relax and contemplate the Trifextra challenge. My overtaxed brain appreciated this relaxing little walk down memory lane…

“This weekend we’re asking you to harken back to your grade school days and write a haiku.  No word restrictions, just stick to the structure as defined below.

HAIKU (noun) : an unrhymed verse form of Japanese origin having three lines containing usually five, seven, and five syllables respectively”

– See more at: http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/#sthash.U7c8GmqS.dpuf”

Interestingly, the last haiku I’ve written as of late was part of the Ligo Haibun challenge, where “The First Kiss” was a sweet memory from my primary school days. My mind immediately went back to that school when I read this challenge and, more specifically, to our sprawling playground area in front of it – and my favorite three recess activities.

I decided that, without word restrictions, these 3 activities could contribute perfectly to making a Trifecta-style trio of haiku.

Double Dutch rope skip:
Who will I marry today?
Recess reception.

I’m head and heels over
one I called for Red Rover.
I’ll let him break through!

Merry-go-round’s gone;
shared laughter long forgotten;
dizzied by passed time.

6 thoughts on “My Playground Trilogy

  1. first love on the playground, Oh Jody, I loved these. I felt like I was standing on the asphalt waiting for my turn to “jump in”

    Red Rover…WOW, the memories!

    hope you had a great weekend.

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

