Sum Mun-Day

Our new secretary came in the office with a black eye on Tuesday morning, and she remained behind the confines of her cubicle walls throughout the day. I was in the unfortunate position of holding the cubicle next to hers – I mean literally, on some days, as those flimsy walls don’t always remain standing so securely. I was also in the unfortunate position of having to approach her to ask for some correspondence to be typed and mailed while pretending I didn’t notice the black eye.

Pretend you didn’t see,’ I mentally warned myself as I entered her domain. I mean, I didn’t even know her. What was I going to say?

Truth is, I didn’t want to know the details – unless someone was going to barge into our office with a semi-automatic weapon at some undisclosed point in the near future. I would’ve preferred to email her, instead, but she was new. She hadn’t received her Intranet access yet. That would happen at some particular unannounced date in the hopefully very near future.

By Wednesday afternoon, I’d learned more about that black eye than I’d ever intended to find out. Her terse curse words flung themselves through the cloth stretched over cardboard wobbling between us. Crap. The what-if semi-automatic weapon scenario was working its way closer into my own unforeseeable future. How did I end up in this dead-end waste of a job again?

Oh yeah. I went to college and chose to be a business major, but dropped Accounting. That and fifty cents (not the rapper, of course, with a somewhat similar name) won’t even buy me a cup of coffee to start my day. Instead, I drag myself into this inane insurance claims job every day, pretending not to notice all the craziness swirling around in my vortex while I’m counting seconds and making up reasons for other people to be stalled on getting the help they need. I deserve to be cooped up in cubicle purgatory doing my time, come to think of it.

Let me sum this up for you. I guess somewhere in my now demented mind, I expect Boss Charming to ride through this dump, sweep me up and drive me off in his limo to his 100-story Neverland Corporate Office with my own penthouse condo built in. Yep. That’d be the life. Among things I (could’ve) said to the doorman: “Hey, watch for an angry visitor carrying weaponry while seemingly on a rampage, how about it?” Yeah…some day. This day, I’m keeping my eyes peeled (well, the one that I don’t have to watch with a tick) for Boyfriend Blackeye to storm in without warning and trip over my bloodied body on his way out the door. (I’ve got it figured to happen on an otherwise mundane Monday.) Most days, though, are just made up of the same dreary boredom of all Mondays – working and waiting, realizing that…

Some day still has the potential to go a lot of different directions.

____________________________________________________

Thought I’d try a little something different this week – in flash fiction reflection narrative style.

inmonsterbadge1The Inspiration Monday prompt at bekindRewrite was as follows:

The Rules

There are none. Read the prompts, get inspired, write something. No word count minimum or maximum. You don’t have to include the exact prompt in your piece, and you can interpret the prompt(s) any way you like.

OR

No really; I need rules!

Okay; write 200-500 words on the prompt of your choice. You may either use the prompt as the title of your piece or work it into the body of your piece. You must complete it before 6 pm CST on the Monday following this post.

The Prompts:

THINGS I SAID TO THE DOORMAN

PRETEND YOU DIDN’T SEE

WATCH WITH A TICK

SOME DAY

COUNTING SECONDS

Since it was my first try here, I decided I’d try to work in all the prompts (yeah, I’m a stickler for rules!) and kinda’ did so at an exact 500 word count. I think I missed the deadline though, originally thinking it was the following Monday (Monday following, meaning next, or following the post on this particular Monday? I got a little word meaning confusion…) before I actually closely re-read the “Rules” version. (Anything having to do with Mondays are scrambled & sneaky like that.) Guess I should revert back to the non-rules version now. Oh well. Hope somebody reads it somewhere, someday – without counting the seconds…or maybe the Mondays being made less mundane through Inspiration!

6 thoughts on “Sum Mun-Day

  1. Fantastic job painting the character and scene. Even though this character is a bit of an anti-hero, I like him (her?). I feel something is about to happen that will make this character step up and start changing things. Love the “Boss Charming” bit. So clever.
    Welcome to the “island”! I think it’s safe to say no one will vote you off. : )

  2. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: What’s he building in there? | bekindrewrite

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

