The Overly Ordinary Life of Megan Scott Sceates

Henry, do you know why I make my bed every morning?

Nope, Eggs. For the life of me, I’ve never figured that one out.

I’m going to pretend I didn’t hear you make that distasteful pun.

For the life of me…at least you got it. Anyway, so why do you do it, Eggs? Make your bed every morning, I mean – not ignore my great sense of humor…though I’ve never really figured that one out either.

That’s just it, Henry. I’m not sure anymore. I mean, let’s face it. I’m going to walk out this door and go live my extremely ordinary and boring life for the rest of this particularly long, dull day. Then I’m going to come home and go through my extremely ordinary and organized ritual to prepare for the next extremely ordinary and boring day. In between, I’m going to unmake this bed, climb into it, sleep while remaining in an extremely ordinary and boring position through the night, possibly to have a dream I won’t even recall because it’s so dull and…ordinary. Then I’ll climb out of this same bed at the same extremely ordinary and boring designated time and remake this bed. It starts all over again – day after livelong day for the rest of my…well, you get it…life. What’s the point? It seems too dull to even make a point.

Hmm, that wasn’t too bad a pun! But you’re scaring me, Eggs. This is how people talk who end up in my position.

What are you so worried about, Henry? I’m the one talking to a dead guy who answers back. Of the two of us, doesn’t that make me the freak here?

I guess you’ve got a point – a pretty dull one, though.

Don’t you have somewhere to be, Henry? Perhaps haunting someone else?

Oh, yeah. Let’s see. You’ve accused me of being in your imagination. After hearing how boring and ordinary that is, I feel kinda’ offended. Thinking I won’t accompany you to work today.

______________________________________________________________

333 words, to be exact, for this week’s Trifecta challenge.

This one comes from an excerpt of a short story I’ve been putting together here & there – Life Beyond the Late Great Henry Sceates – who, coincidentally prefers to be called Hank. His widow, Megan, also prefers not to be called Eggs by him. Despite their many differences, breathing being the main one, the two can’t seem to let one another go. Megan’s intro explains all that, including the name disputes. I’ll have to work on sharing that portion one day, if anyone’s interested.

This week’s word was suggested by Marie Nicole. Have fun with it and we’ll see you on Friday.

FREAK (noun)

  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • If your post doesn’t meet our requirements, please leave your link in the comments section, not in the linkz.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone. Please join us.
13 thoughts on “The Overly Ordinary Life of Megan Scott Sceates

  1. At first, her description of her ordinary life made me sad for her. The reveal of Henry’s state and her summation that she would be the freak made me finish this story with a smile. The humor in their interaction is just what I’d expect from an old married couple. (I’m a little disturbed that if my husband goes first, he could still haunt me after death. Please tell me he won’t continue to leave half-full coffee cups all over the house!)

  2. Pingback: When the Brain Defies all Logic | humanTriumphant

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

