Your Child’s Confession

childs confession

Trifecta’s weekend challenge of 33 words (please pardon the inclusion of my 3-word title at the bottom when checking the count) was to write a confession – truth or dare. I think it actually said fiction or non-fiction. My idea for this confession stemmed from this week’s theme in my life – 100% non-fiction: Take me out to the ballgame…

I just got back into town from my son’s State ball tournament (and although we didn’t take the State, we did come back as runners-up on our first trip there – not too shabby. I also hope to have another story to blog soon that touched my heart there…but that’s for another day.) While there, I wondered how much time I’ve spent on bleachers (football, baseball, wrestling, basketball) over the years. Of course, I’m not complaining. I’m doing my time. I know my kids will eventually do their time because my dad did his time for me.  (It’s a vicious cycle! haha!) I used to wonder if the play-by-play feedback with suggestions were really necessary after each of my games. A simple “good job” would’ve been sufficient through my young eyes (and ears). I forgot that my dad was a teacher & a coach – and an athlete before that who had learned to critique himself to become better. How could he have helped himself, if he was truly wanting to help me? Nevertheless, my son and I have struck a deal between us. No one is allowed to critique immediately after a game or match – period. If it was a win, we can celebrate the awesome plays or moves. But everything else waits until either the glory or the sting has had some time to dissipate. Then we’ll “talk shop” again. 🙂

As far as Trifextra goes, this weekend’s challenge is community judged – so come & join in! 🙂

  • For the 14 hours following the close of the challenge, voting will be enabled on links.
  • In order to vote, return to this post where stars will appear next to each link.  To vote, simply click the star that corresponds with your favorite post.
  • You can vote for your top three favorite posts.
  • Voting is open to everyone. Encourage your friends to vote for you, if you wish.
  • You have 14 hours to vote.  It’s not much time, so be diligent! We’ll send out reminders on Twitter and Facebook.
15 thoughts on “Your Child’s Confession

  1. What an awesome story! I love your piece, as well as, the charming back story that accompanied it. Family is definitely the beginning and the end of it for me. Thanks for capturing the magic so well. 🙂

  2. I spent many a year dressed in Kenai Little League chic (aka quilts and jackets and mittens and hats) while watching the grands from tee-ball on up until they were done playing . . . great sport for kids. 🙂

    • Have to jump in here – season starts in April – and it is still cold. Coats, mittens, blankets…and the younger the team, the earlier the start time. 7am and the fog is still on the river (some years the ice is still on it.) But the hot coffee and other moms in the stands 🙂 the “lifers”. (The dads were either working Sat morning clinic hours or in/near the dug out pretending what they said (yelled) made a difference. Was it a wonder those kids left the sport first?!)

  3. I like this from the child’s POV. We spend so much time nurturing their needs and dreams that it’s not surprising they don’t realize we have our own hopes.

  4. Pingback: The Game of Life | humanTriumphant

  5. And it always comes as a surprise to parents when their kids suddenly make lives of their own (: Great piece!

  6. The confession – I love it! I have bits and pieces of realization trickle in from my son… a wise college boy. (ahem.) Teenage daughter has too much knowledge and wisdom to acknowledge, not to mention her wise friends, to realize see beyond her sphere. 🙂 Bless her heart 😉

  7. I think about this all the time as I watch my own children grow up. They don’t know about who I was before they came along. To them, I exist solely for them. For now. They’ll see the other side of it when they have their own. Interesting. Thanks for linking up. Remember to come back and vote.

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

