“The Sad” is Bad

broken

When did loneliness happen?

Did it just show up on your front porch one day, ring the bell, and make its way inside? Did it formally announce to you it was here to stay? Was there a particular date when it arrived?

Or was it more subtle than that? Did it skirt around you for awhile, deliberate in taking note of your preferences; glancing for opportunities to sneak into your life the minute you hadn’t filled it with activity?

How deliberate were you in extending an invitation? In allowing its entrance? Me? Oh, I really don’t remember anymore.

Whatever the case, somewhere along the way, I had to resign myself that it wasn’t going to go away. So I named it. Well, I just call it “The Sad.” By being able to tell others “The Sad” is always with me, it helps me not to feel so alone anymore.

 _________________________________________________________________

This week’s writing challenge from Trifecta is quite DELIBERATE (and I deliberated on how to work in all forms of definitions, one way or another – – one ended up below the piece). However, for the challenge itself, Trifecta only accepts the 3rd definition, with the word in its exact form. So here’s what we’re after to deliberately meet this week’s challenge:

DELIBERATE
1: characterized by or resulting from careful and thorough consideration <a deliberate decision>
2: characterized by awareness of the consequences<deliberate falsehood>
3: slow, unhurried, and steady as though allowing time for decision on each individual action involved <a deliberate pace>

Remember:
  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • If your post doesn’t meet our requirements, please leave your link in the comments section, not in the linkz.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone. Please join us.

_________________________________________________________________

I would also deliberately encourage you to NEVER invite “The Sad” to reside with you. “The Sad” will work to convince you you don’t need friends, you don’t need help, and you don’t need to keep yourself from sinking further into despair. Deliberately tell “The Sad” it’s time for you to get a new set of friends.

 DELIBERATELY FIGHT THE SAD – BY INVITING OTHERS INTO YOUR LIFE INSTEAD!

_________________________________________________________

17 thoughts on ““The Sad” is Bad

    • It’s not always easy to feel connected in a world where people sit hip to hip while commuting, but refuse to look one another’s way. I think loneliness is swallowing us whole because true relationship has become void. Growing up, I played in every neighbors’ yard, visited in their homes, they told my parents if I did anything I shouldn’t. I don’t live in that neighborhood anymore. (I did receive an email from our neighborhood association recently that someone’s house had been broken into. Whose, I have no idea.) 😦

    • yes, Joe – “The Tired” has been giving it a run for its money, as of late, as I try to revisit my research methodology this week with a “fresh” set of eyes. 😉

  1. This is one of the most personal, saddest pieces I can remember reading. Somewhere it hit a chord, disarming me. So powerful, in style, substance and everything else. Just remember that there are those that feel love visiting your blog, and that yes, your blog does exude love, creativity and goodness.

    • Thank you, Managua. What lovely words of encouragement & friendship you’ve exuded for me to cherish & carry in my heart throughout the day. They’ll surely crowd out “The Sad.” May many blessings be poured out your way. -j 🙂

  2. How sad that The Sad has been around long enough to get a name. Time to kick out that house guest and take away his key. Beautiful writing in this one.

  3. The Sad. What a jerk he is. You definitely don’t want him hanging around that long. This is a lovely piece Jody. Infused with your wonderful humour, but so poignant and, well, sad.

  4. I hate it when the sad visits. But it does make you feel closer to god way more than when you’re happy. Still you’re absolutely right! Never invite The Sad in. A beautiful piece of writing.

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

