Incendiary Crossing

UntitledUntitled © Vanessa Paxton via Flickr

pinhole 970, bridgepinhole 970, bridge © Darius Kuzmickas via Flickr

She was leaving her home

on a bridge to nowhere

For all other bridges she’d burned.

But the blaze in her heart that had

spread like wildfire

determined this trip not be spurned.

Innocence lost in forested decay

a dark, foggy future only filled with dismay

was all she encountered that lone, murky day

– no bright, warming light to illumine her way –

when she reached for the other side.

© 2013 jody love

__________________________________________________________

What do you get when you cross 2 picture prompts with a 500 word limit?

During NaPoWriMo, you get this paltry poem!

Peace! -j

14 thoughts on “Incendiary Crossing

    • thanks Thomas – and I believe I caught a glimpse of your work mentioned on Trifecta this week, didn’t I? (peeking in between other life “stuff” on my phone greatly limits me). Congrats!

  1. like Thomas, I love the line “for all the other bridges she’d burned”
    what a telling phrase.

    and “blaze in her heart”, who hasn’t felt that burn, that ache? I really like when you write about love and leaving, it touching me, hitting me right in the chest.

  2. I love the way you linked the two pictures and contrasted the cold dampness of the fog of the future and the fiery pain behind her

  3. I like your poetry, even if this one was a bit on the dark side. Since I read everything out loud, I liked the rhythm, as well as how you mixed the rhyme into the poem. It makes it fun:~) Sara

    • Thanks Sara. It made me smile to read that you read it out loud. I’ll lie in bed at night, often reading poetry out loud to determine a preferred cadence & emphasis. I’ve had a run of melancholy in my writing this week – must be due to a month’s worth of poetry 😉 but…I still felt happy that there was a lesson to be learned in the words (and even still a hope for her hope on the other side). Thanks so much for your feedback!

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

