Mucking Up the Fall

He dug himself a hole in the ground.
Twasn’t no sandy dirt neither.
You’d think once he’d gotten far enough down,
he’d have stopped to take a good breather.

Heavens no!

In his mind, he was moving further upward,
traveling e’er higher and higher.
So hooten falutin and hoity toity,
he ne’er took notice he’d sunk in the mire.

I’ll say!

Dig himself out? No, he never would;
for he’d long lost that betting chance.
Before he climbed to the top to exchange
his (m)eager life for one last glance.

Dear Lord!

He looked down on that concrete block,
then decided he’d changed his mind.
But before he could turn to step away,
he was caught by the northern wind…

Er, I mean…his last stride was unrefined.

So what?

The lesson to this story, you inquire?
Besides taking care not to misstep?
If you’re going to write your words in rhyme,
best be sure to properly prep…

Regardless of the tough schlep…

Oh my!

Lest, as a poet, you risk your good rep.

© 2013 jody love

________________________________________________________________________________

Speakeasy #106 is on – and I’m down to my final week of NaPoWriMo – so this might be my last poem submission here for awhile. Maybe…maybe not. We’re back to a starting sentence prompt (as opposed to anywhere in the post), so I’m betting you’re “purty smart” and can figure this one out without me giving a hint. The 2nd prompt is the picture that’s been supplied. The limit is 600 words max, but I felt like I was on Wheel of Fortune this week without having to buy any vowels – I still have plenty of those to spare. I bought expletives this week instead. 😉

14 thoughts on “Mucking Up the Fall

  1. Haha! Your comment about 600 words made me think of the movie Amadeus, when the patron of Mozart complained, that there were ‘too many notes’.I enjoyed reading this!

    • glad you stopped in, Tina. I guess composers of all types can be guilty of that accusation. So in my simple, hillbilly southern speak, I’ll just say, “Ya’ll come back now – real soon.” 🙂

    • Since a writer can never be more clever than her audience, I work to increase my IQ by surrounding myself w/ people smarter than me, like you, Stacie. That way, I get extra credit points 😉

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

