Have Your Reservations? Could be a recipe for disaster…

Excuse me. Lord Lodbrok? We have reserved seating for your Viking party, but I’m afraid I’ll have to ask you to move your vehicle, sir.

Yes, I understand. You’ve sailed a long way this evening to dine on our Southside.

Oh, no sir. We’ve nothing against axe-bearing pagans here. However, I need to warn you that you’ll be dining alongside the Mongolians this evening. Please check your swords at the counter, next to the Apache tomahawks and Spartan spears.

This parking space has a reserved holder though, sir. I’m not sure if you can read, but if so, you’ll see that this area has already been designated for the Barbarians.

______________________________________________________________________________

Friday Fictioneers is here again! All thoughts to be encapsulated in a 100-word story.

I’m going to take a break from poetry on this one today in order to dedicate my short story to my sister, who messaged me on Facebook this week with the words, “Hail Ragnar!”

(Let the story be your clue, in case you got so mesmerized by the vehicle that you didn’t notice the first name on the sign next to it.)  If Ragnar Lodbrok wanted that parking space, Attila the Hun would surely have his hands full keeping it! 🙂

________________________________________________________________________________

15 thoughts on “Have Your Reservations? Could be a recipe for disaster…

  1. Jody, my favorite line was “I’m not sure if you can read!” Your story is a perfect example of seeing something in the periphery of the picture and making an entire, enjoyable story from it. Good job. (Took me three times not to say “Good jog”!!)

    janet

  2. I’d still vote Attila on the old adage about “it’s not the size of the dog in the fight, it’s the fight in the dog” 🙂

    This poses some interesting interactions, liked it.

  3. i absolutely loved this story! Very well done. If there was a prize I’d want to give it to you! Original interpretation.

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

