Three Thieves Hung on a Cross that Day – An Easter Drama

Happy Easter!

tomb_scene

I understand that phrase has different meanings for different people. For me, as a Christ-follower, I celebrate this day as the day of my Risen Savior. The Church has a traditional greeting on this day, in which one person pronounces, “He is risen!” to which the next responds, “He is risen, indeed!” I always look forward to this exchange because I can’t imagine a better proclamation of faith to share.

That being the case, I’m going to share something with you today that I created for making this proclamation – it’s a dramatized monologue I wrote for our Easter sunrise service, in which Mary Magdalene arrives in the graveyard to alert those who have come that Jesus will not be found there.

If you decide to view it, please take it easy on me in “the reviews.” I don’t claim to be an actress, by any stretch of the imagination, and it takes me some time to ‘get my bearings’ and just let the words flow. (No stage practice beforehand – it was a one-time run in front of a live audience.) But my intent was to deliver a meaningful message that could serve to explain some of the lesser understood meanings of the ‘goings on’ likely surrounding the crucifixion, according to my research.

So I present to you…Mary Magdalene’s version of why three thieves hung on a cross that day (in her Southern Judean accent). 😉

He is Risen!…

(that’s your cue!)

Easter Blessings,

-jody

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

