…And We Danced

I was meeting a group of friends after the class reunion because, even as an adult, I felt too awkward to attend. It had all started with that same group at a middle school dance (my only one, I might add). They had pushed me – I mean, literally – to ask this guy to dance.

His friends had snickered, while he looked around in discomfort. Then, in one long grimace (or was it one swift cut?), he shook his head and backed away. I spent the remainder of the night buried under my covers in tears, and the remainder of my school years buried behind my books in humiliation.

Here I am, years later, fearless international spokesperson for NASA’s space program; yet, too scared to attend my own local high school reunion. I negotiated, instead, to meet a handful of friends afterward.

I stumbled, coming through the door, upon catching his eye – one of two boring a hole into me. He stood and approached with his hand out, cuing me there was music playing in the background.

“I wanted to say yes back then,” he shrugged, “but I knew I’d look stupid because you were such a good dancer, and I…wasn’t.”

“Are you saying you’re better now?” My mouth engaged before my brain.

“At a lot of things, yes,” he grinned. “Care to find out?”

Steps from the dance floor,

Stages from a former dream.

Time stopped. And we danced.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

I have to say that I greatly missed participating last week at Līgo Editions and hope for the opportunity to go back and read what I know were fantastic contributions there.

Just last week I also missed a high school reunion planning meeting due an already overbooked schedule, but this missed appointment did serve to give me the idea for this week’s haibun. The challenge prompt line was already so spectacular, I couldn’t have outdone it for my title either.

The Līgo Haībun Challenge ~ Prompt “And We Danced”

ligo-challenge2Haībun is Prosimetric writing. The haībun format here for the Līgo Haībun Challenge is as follows ~

paragraph (more than one paragraph is fine, or just a few sentences) in prose form of either

  • a descriptive passage , or excerpt from a story/or previously published post
  • an explanation 
  • a tale
  • a travelogue
  • a news item
  • a recipe

and

  • the haiku to close

The expression does not have to be used exactly as it is. Remember the word limit is normally if not formally 220 words, including the haiku, and more than 1 haiku is fine.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

8 thoughts on “…And We Danced

  1. Well, you got two clear emotions out of me there – no, three! First you made me really chuckle, but then a sadness swept over me, of all those confused years, and my third, the smile when I saw his little challenge to her, that he was good at many things now, naughty naughty!
    Nice haiku, evocative and full of fantasy and nostalgia. Thanks! Very nice!

  2. I love coming here, I want to read you, just to get better at writing or maybe just to bask in the words you share with us. You are truly gifted.

    Also, I might try that challenge…

    now onto this amazing piece.
    I felt every single detail of it, felt my tummy drop, just a little at the end, as he took her hand. I’m a sucker for a romantic ending. 😉

    • Me TOO, Kir! Everyone needs a happy ending. The world would surely be a better place. I am overwhelmed by your wonderful words, especially from someone who is very gifted at this craft. I hope you do come & join us in this challenge. I’ve come to love the style of the haibun, where you come to realize how few words poetry often needs to sum up a story. 🙂

  3. ohmygod i loved this haha the end made me smile.. im such a hopeless romantic.. i love that this is so full of future promises ^^

  4. Pingback: Dabbling in – I mean, babbling in – (Topographic) Headiness | humanTriumphant

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

