Time Well – – Saved

As I groggily balance myself on my chair, elbows propped against my desk and eyes blinking back sleep at 4:00 this morning (though already lied to again by my clock, who winks that it’s 5:00 a.m. and expects me not to miss my favorite dreaming hour), it only seems appropriate to offer up a narrative for this week’s Trifecta challenge on TIME – with my mind directed towards the concept of Daylight Savings___________________________________________________________________________________

The hour was ripe, barely hanging from a limb with the heaviness that comes with the fullness of time. It had been seasoning for eons, just waiting to be plucked and savored. I’d been working my fingers to the bone to capture any potentially wasted moment, greedily snatching each one up here and there, stashing them all away for a day when they’d absolutely be needed, when each one could be put to better use – waiting for the perfect day. My excess time bank had filled to the brink, and it was now overflowing. I was rich – wealthy beyond measure! I couldn’t begin to count all the extra time I had surely earned.

Oh, let me tell you. There were a number of occasions I’d been tempted to make some hasty withdrawal that would’ve caused my time to be foolishly squandered. Why, once, I’d even considered giving some of it away to my family. They were constantly approaching me like beggars with empty souls. Can you imagine the cost of giving those spare moments away? Each and every time, I was repulsed by the thought…so much so that I became quite clever with my excuses, assuring I could make them efficiently without pausing from my self-assigned duties. Waste not, want not.

So, today, I rejoice! My time is now! I’ve been imagining for so long exactly how this day will be, how it will feel to abide in the midst of all my spare time – so plentiful and enjoyable! The abundant feast will be more than enough to share with all who care to join me.

Except…I arose this morning all alone. I couldn’t recall where I’d placed the key to my tremendous fortune. I searched for someone to ask, someone to take my hand and share in my momentous treasure. Yet, no one appeared. None could I find.

What’s that noise I hear from a distance, coming nearer? It’s ever so close now. For whom does that bell toll?

______________________________________________________________________

Trifecta’s weekly challenge prompt is:

TIME (noun)

1a : the measured or measurable period during which an action, process, or condition exists or continues : duration
b : a nonspatial continuum that is measured in terms of events which succeed one another from past through present to future
c : leisure <time for reading>
2: the point or period when something occurs : occasion
3a : an appointed, fixed, or customary moment or hour for something to happen, begin, or end <arrived ahead of time>
b : an opportune or suitable moment <decided it was time to retire> —often used in the phrase about time <about time for a change>

Please remember:

  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • If your post doesn’t meet our requirements, please leave your link in the comments section, not in the linkz.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone. Please join us.
23 thoughts on “Time Well – – Saved

  1. Wow. You blew me away with this. I wasn’t sure where this was going and the ending was a shock. Some valuable lessons here that I learned the hard way. Great work!

    • Is there an easy way to learn a lesson? Oh, how I might hope… Thanks for your comments, lumdog – especially the one where you said you weren’t sure where it was going…I feel that way about my writing quite often! 😉 peace, -j

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

