Stone-cold or Peachy-keen?

The pit of my stomach felt deep and empty to the core, a foundational stone extracted from its rightful place.

My once peachy heart anxiously waited for new life to be sown again.

peach stone

____________________________________________________________________________________________

The Trifextra Prompt: This weekend, we want you to give us a thirty-three response using the word stone as one of your thirty-three words.  You can use any definition of the word that you’d like, but we are specifically looking for serious, well-conceived entries.  This isn’t the weekend for light-hearted posts…,and we are not looking for hilarious commentary….  We want something serious and deep from you guys this weekend, because the sun is starting to shine a bit more, and we think we can handle it now.

47 thoughts on “Stone-cold or Peachy-keen?

  1. I couldn’t help thinking of miscarriages or infertility..then I felt the loss of love, that moment when someone you love doesn’t anymore, how empty you feel, how much you wish for a something to live for.

    I loved all 33 words.

      • I have never been here to your blog before, but I signed up for your posts. I love your voice and hope that you have more words to share with me. Have a good weekend.

        • Thanks so much, Kir. I’ll surely do the same with your blog, as I’ve enjoyed much of your work that I’ve gotten to catch in your postings (though, admittedly, it’s difficult to make it through them all and I’m often not as successful as I’d hope to be – and often don’t get to comment as often as I’d like). Grace & peace, -j

  2. Pingback: Stone – A Trifecta Post | Lyrical Anarchy

  3. Having lived for 13 years near Aiken, SC I feel I know peaches. I used to help friends who sold fruit & vegetables in a roadside stand. We unloaded crates of fresh peaches right from the orchards. Unless you’ve eaten a peach right off the tree you haven’t eaten the best peaches. Boy do I miss REAL peaches.

  4. I love both metaphors plus the 33 words have so many meanings; I read it three times and every time I made a different interpretation. Great one Jody!

  5. That first line is absolutely fantastic. Totally unrelated: I usually kind of groan at fonts that are any color other than black. But this one, for some reason, I really enjoyed. Peach. 🙂

  6. What a peachy piece- Jody!Juicy with so many meanings,moist with emotions,sweet with longing & coloured bright with hope:-)I loved it as much as I love peaches(which we do not get here so often).The symbolism is amazing & I wanted to sink my teeth in it slowly ,relishing all its flavours-a winner in my eyes:-)

  7. Pingback: Stone Cold… | Beyond Beauty Tips

  8. Pingback: Carpe Diem Haiku: Gemini (the twins) | humanTriumphant

  9. Pingback: Trifecta Writing Challenge - Stone Cold | Things To Rave About

  10. Pingback: Stone Cold...

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

