Friday Fictioneers – The Fall

A fabulous Friday to all! I’m beginning mine with…

THE FRIDAY FICTIONEERS CHALLENGE: Write a one hundred word story that has a beginning, middle and end. (No one will be ostracized for going over or under the word count.)

This is my first time participating in Friday Fictioneers, but if I’m interpreting the prompt correctly (beyond the challenge rules stated above), it should be 100 words and should also use the image (which I’ve included through its Web link) along with the worded challenge prompt.

(Note: I’ve kept my entry to 100 words exactly because being ostrich-sized isn’t something I’m willing to chance…)

Image Copyright: Janet Webb

Used to be I didn’t see her much once I left home – just the obligatory holidays; then droppin’ the kids off for a week or so every summer. Those years flew by. Now I’m comin’ every spring to paint that fence I put up, just to keep her from wanderin’ over that way – at least in body, as I can’t stop her mind from goin’ back to her childhood over there daily. Fall’s comin’. No gettin’ around havin’ to clear out those weeds that always threaten to choke the life outta’ what’s been erected and break our deal.

27 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Fall

  1. Being ostrich-sized is only good if you’re tired of being Chicken Little! 🙂 As far as the story, I didn’t get him trying to get something but that he finally came back (in the fall, moving into winter, of her life) to help out. “The deal” to me was that he would care for the place and thus, for her, even though he can’t help mentally. I liked that. Either way, it works, but I’m generally the eternal optimist.

    Enjoy your weekend,

    janet

  2. Dear Jody,
    First welcome to Friday Fictioneers. You might find, as many of us have, that this little writing exercise is highly addictive.
    You painted a poignant portrait of family. Nice job.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

    • Thank you, Rochelle, for having me here. The limited word count encouraged me to selectively choose expressions to succinctly tell my story. It was a fantastic exercise – especially seeing how it became much like poetry, with readers interjecting variances in personal expressions to tell it for themselves. Shabbat shalom, -j

  3. hey, welcome, so glad you’re here in friday fictioneers now too ^^ great story. i like that he built the fence. and that he came back… some kids don’t.

  4. My first impression worked the barn into the other’s presence as quite likely spirit, bodiless, which connected as though to a vow from the speaker at the end: the deal made to resist, to fight decay (a little Faulknerian, maybe?)

    • I’ve delayed on giving my own interpretation of the voice I’ve created because, with only 100 words, I’m realizing the reader has so much capability to interject his/her own presence to continue forming the experience (and I don’t yet want to steal that). As for Faulkner, I can assuredly say that we do share a common Southern lens. “Thanks for stoppin’ in for a spell.” 🙂

  5. Welcome to Friday Fictioneers – we’re an addicted group of people. I love the southern inflection in the narration and congrats to you for getting the 100 words right off the bat. It took me several tries before I could do that.

    • Thanks, Jennie, for the hospitable welcome – I wouldn’t go so far as to say “right off the bat” – ha! (The original version went twice that long + a little – before I backed it up with some crealectivity – that’s creativity in being selective. 😉 ) It was surely a fun exercise & continues to be so in the “meet n’ greet aftermath.” 🙂

  6. Isn’t in interesting to have everyone try to expand on your 100 word ideas? That is one of the gretest benefits to this group activity. We get to hear other’s ideas. You did a great job.

  7. Pingback: Friday Fictioneers: Spiral Resolve | humanTriumphant

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

