Bouquet of Regret

“Damn,” I swore inwardly to myself, trying to hold my breath to keep from being choked by the crushing odor. Roses and carnations all over the place. She hated them both – said they reminded her of funeral homes and hospitals. And most of them were in shades of pink. Pink was never her color…except for it being forced upon her. The only kind of roses that would’ve been her style were those small, wild brambly type that were only perfect because of their imperfections. No, this wasn’t her at all. She would’ve wanted wild flowers today – a mix of every bright color imaginable, with lots of purple splashed in. I made a mental note to myself that I’d have to bring some back for her later, when it was just the two of us, when I could talk to her and tell her one last time how I felt about her. That’s the best I could do for her now concerning this flowery screw up.

Brought her no bouquet

Save my aroma of love

and yearning for her.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

It was wonderful to joining the writing community at Līgo Editions this past week – one full of so much talent; so I’m most appreciative of the Special Mention of my haibun, The Melt-Down. (I’m finding haibuns are quite intriguing, in and of themselves.)

I had just finished adding a page on my blog for a novel project I’m working on, Rolling River, when the notice of the prompt came up; so I couldn’t help but thinking the two went quite well together. (Except, of course, I can’t imagine my hard-lined narrator, Cody, ever writing a haiku; but perhaps for Jilli, he might at least try. I decided to help him out this time.) 😉

The Līgo Haībun Challenge ~ Prompt “Bouquet”/”Bouquet of Flowers”/”Flower”

ligo-challenge2Haībun is Prosimetric writing. The haībun format here for the Līgo Haībun Challenge is as follows ~

paragraph (more than one paragraph is fine, or just a few sentences) in prose form of either

  • a descriptive passage , or excerpt from a story/or previously published post
  • an explanation 
  • a tale
  • a travelogue
  • a news item
  • a recipe

and

  • the haiku to close

PLEASE REMEMBER THE LIGO HAIBUN NORMALLY SHOULD BE 220 WORDS OR LESS.

This week’s  word prompt is ~ BOUQUET/BOUQUET OF FLOWERS/FLOWER ~ the word need not feature in your haibun but can in any form.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

20 thoughts on “Bouquet of Regret

  1. pink is definitely my color! ^^ but i like wildflowers too.. but really, the story makes me curious about how their conversation went! ^^ well done

  2. Pingback: Līgo Haībun Challenge ~ Prompt **South America** | Līgo Editions

  3. Wonderful presentation of your haibun, which itself flared up with real emotion. I really liked the hard-hitting bittersweetness. Your haiku finishing it it off was stunning and very original.
    Interesting you even considered your character writing a haiku in your novel!

  4. Pingback: Sunrise to Sunset | humanTriumphant

  5. Pingback: In the Thicket of Things | humanTriumphant

  6. Pingback: Dabbling in – I mean, babbling in – (Topographic) Headiness | humanTriumphant

  7. Pingback: Floral Friday Fotos: Wildflowers | humanTriumphant

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

