NOW!

NOW! denotes the excitement of building anticipation when people are living “in the moment.”

Spectators sit on the edge of their seats, sensing something incredible might surely take place before their very eyes.

now3

Athletes’ adrenaline pumps, as just the right muscles tense to perform some fantastic feat.

now

now4

Teenagers tense and giggle as they walk out, dressed for their first formal dance.

now6

And photographers’ fingers twitch, wondering if the shutter speed-to-brain synapse ratio is set to capture the exact desired effect.

That finger twitching thing happened to me this morning, possibly because it was a windy, well below freezing day, while I was standing where the sun had not yet risen. There I was, looking up, counting heron nests – fifteen, sixteen, seventeen…peering through my lens. (This would be a good time for me to tell you that I’m an amateur of amateurs when it comes to photography – with a new camera, to boot.) My finger’s on the trigger (that’s what you call that thing, right?)…when, suddenly, one of the great herons opens its wings and sets itself for flight. My brain rejoices as my finger pushes down! In this moment…NOW!…I am about to have “the mother of all herons leaving their nests” shots!

But wait…nothing happens. I have one more chance before take-off. Nope. Nada. Sigh. I open my digital screen to read on the display: “SD card not inserted, you idiot!”

I trudge back to my illegally parked car, thaw my fingers so I can put in the spare SD card I thought to get over Christmas break (since my original one is in the laptop at home, of course), and shiver all the way back, noticing the sun cresting and wishing it was coming my direction.

Rather than my “mother of all herons” shot, this is all I was able to come up with (before the frostbite on my ankles set in – yes, I was well-prepared in clothing too, goose bumps popping out from my work-out clothes).

I present this to you as my most current photo – and I am uploading it…NOW!

DSC_0006

Wishes for a warm day, -jody

___________________________________________________________________________________________

I’m participating in the online adventure travel and photography magazine LetsBeWild.com’s Wild Weekly Photo Challenge for bloggers. This week’s Challenge is: Now!

And here are some other pics I took this week too: 

WOOD ya’ wanna’ see my Roots? The A-Bridged version

________________________________________________________________________________

And I’ll also throw this one in for the daily post prompt, since after I located the photos I was after & got them ready for upload, I realized I had 7 minutes to get my thoughts written & my post published before I had to leave for my next appointment. (Okay, it ended up taking me the full 10. I made up for the extra 3 on the road – Eek!)

Daily Prompt: Ready, Set Go

by michelle w. on January 24, 2013

Set a timer for ten minutes. Open a new post. Start the timer, and start writing. When the timer goes off, publish. 

____________________________________________________________________________________________

12 thoughts on “NOW!

    • Thank you – obviously, it’s not the one I wanted! ha! It’s so funny that, until this winter, I thought we only had 1 heron nearby because I only ever saw one standing by the pond. Then all the leaves came off the trees & I looked up to see all these herons nesting up high together. I then had to wonder how they worked out their schedule where only 1 of them ever came down to the pond at a time. Quite a rotational schedule, they must have! 😉

  1. Pingback: RAMBLE PROMPT « hastywords

  2. Pingback: Didn’t I Just Do This? – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ready, Set, Go or Maybe | My Blog

  4. you inspire me!
    About now: I wrote this a little while ago – Ram Das phrased it beautifully “Be Here Now”. Yesterday is our wisdom, tomorrow inspires our dreams and being in the moment is kNOWing that NOW is the only TRUTH worth knowing…

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ready, Set Go | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  6. Pingback: SMILE! Knowing How to Push the Right Buttons when Taking Pictures « humanTriumphant

  7. Pingback: Impromptu Writing | Things To Rave About

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

