In Need of Reconstruction…

“My lady, please come down from there this minute….”

“Yes, I know, I know. That’s been your spot for a number of years now. I understand your concern that someone else might try to take your place if you were to move from it; but the physician is here. He’s expressed his desire to visit with you…”

“Liberty! I mean it! You must come down from there this very instant, young lady!”

“There, there. Please forgive me. No need for a tantrum. I didn’t mean to be so crass about it. My apologies for calling you by your given name.” Ah, she can be so prideful at times. “My lady, the physician refuses to climb up onto that pedestal to treat you. He is simply too great for that…. Yes, my lady, greater than you, I’m afraid. Great enough to heal you, if you’d but come down and let him do his life’s work.”

“Yes, I agree. You are still quite lovely at your, um, age and in very little need of reconstructive work…I mean, in no need, my lady. No need whatsoever for any additional outer beauty. You stand there quite proudly displaying all you have to offer – especially to those seamen coming into port. Why, no, no. I meant nothing by my careless remark. A harmless observation, that’s all.”

“No, my lady, he offers no facial polishes for you, no magical potions, nothing more to enhance your façade. His appeal is quite odd, actually. He simply requests to spend time with you daily. He claims that, in doing so, you could be healed of so many problems that ail you. Addictions, anger, corruption, greed, hurt, injustice, pain…he has quite a list here, apparently provided in alphabetical order. Oh, dear, pride is on here too – after policy.”

“Perhaps you should just hold your post up there, along with that torch. I think this chap may have bitten off more than he can chew. Possibly a blindfold is all that’s truly in order.”

***

Screenshot from Planet of the Apes

***

Trifecta Writing Challenge: Week Fifty-six – This week we are borrowing from Write, Love, Live who gave us the perfect word for this week.  Be sure to check your usage–the third definition does not pertain to the body.

HEAL

1a : to make sound or whole <heal a wound>
b : to restore to health
2a : to cause (an undesirable condition) to be overcome: mend <the troubles … had not been forgotten, but they had been healed — William Power>
b : to patch up (a breach or division) <heal a breach between friends>
3: to restore to original purity or integrity <healed of sin>

***

Related Articles:

A Mean and Less Life

18 thoughts on “In Need of Reconstruction…

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

