Weekly Photo Challenge: Changing Seasons

I live in the Southeastern foothills of the Appalachian mountain range. We’ve come to expect that holiday temps are a crap-shoot. Christmas may even bring us some balmy 70-degree weather on occasion (though, last year, we all woke up to the thrill of a rare Christmas snowfall that had stuck to the ground!).

Contrary to popular mythical belief, Southerners can & do drive on snow. (We just usually don't get an opportunity. Our hilly, curvy, mountainous roads are more commonly covered with sheets of frozen rain during winter conditions.)

Contrary to popular mythical belief, Southerners can & do drive on snow. (We just usually don’t get an opportunity. Our hilly, curvy, mountainous roads are more commonly covered with sheets of frozen rain during winter conditions.)

Here’s a photo of the more common conditions in our area at this time of year (photo below was taken exactly 2 weeks ago & I was hiking in very similar conditions yesterday). By the calendar, fall technically goes until around December 20, and our area holds onto it for at least that long. As you can see, we have very seasonal end-of-fall-like conditions, with most of the leaves serving as ground cover…

The leaves make a beautiful fall carpet in our area; but when temps have remained around a temperate 70 degrees, hikers in our area need to remember that copperheads come out & blend in well with this ground cover.

The leaves make a beautiful fall carpet in our area; but when the weather has remained around a temperate 70 degrees, hikers in our area need to remember that copperheads come out & blend in well with this ground cover.

…except for the rhododendron and mountain laurel, which will grow quite large in our forested areas and will remain green throughout the year.

Fall 2012

This mountain laurel and/or rhododendron framed this lovely creek setting well on my recent hike. I’m blessed that creeks like this are abundant in our area.

If you’d like to try to figure out which is the laurel & which is the wild rhododendron, here’s a little article to help you along  (but good luck in our area at this time of year, when they’re not blooming).

One last little capture. Here’s one of my summertime lilies (I chose it because it said it bloomed from Spring to early Fall – and I like to get lots of “bang for my buck”). Please don’t ask me to name this lily – because the best I’d be able to do is say “Doris” (she just looks like a Doris to me) – but feel free to tell the rest of us if you know what it is. Anyway, “Doris” bloomed bright fuchsia pink for me all summer long, then her blooms faded away. I walked out the other day to discover she’s apparently gotten into the Christmas spirit, sneaking in some dark red blooms to match her seasonal green foliage. Tis the season for Doris too, I suppose.

Doris getting into the Christmas season.

Doris getting into the Christmas season spirit.

So what kind of weather are you expecting for Christmas this year?

To check out others getting into the Christmas seasonal change, follow this link.

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Changing Seasons

  1. Doris is lovely – and your comment about naming her made me smile. Our weather around here is so unpredictable it’s hard to know what we’ll get, although I suspect with the mildness of last winter we’re due for a rough one. So far it’s been in the mid 30’s to mid 40’s here, with only one snowfall on the first football recruiting weekend (December 1st). It didn’t last long but it was pretty. Ask this question again in a month, when we’re up to our armpits in snow;)

  2. HI! Great blog! I was rock climbing at Saturday at Foster Falls and you came up to me and asked if you could put my picture on your blog, I was just wondering if I could see the pictures you took. We hardly ever take pictures and I have little proof of my weekend activities. I would love to see if you dont mind sharing. Thank you so much! Have a great week!

    • Hi Lindsey! So glad you found me! You were “rockin'” on Saturday up there, girl! haha If I don’t get them up on the blog in a week or so, email me w/ a place to send them. Otherwise, I should have them up here sometime soon. Definitely want you to get to see them. Thanks for stopping in & for your kind words! -jody (jodydlove@gmail.com)

  3. Tickle My Ear, so I shall or at least attempt to. Beautiful simply beautiful what other way to put how Mother Nature allows to us to see not only at times her unabashed fury, but also the loving way she takes us through the season…and we are giving the opportunity to capture them in minds eye and deliver them to others to see the intrinsic beauty that we ourselves see. Love how you named your Lilly, but more importantly how you captured the passing of time in your photos. Thanks for sharing. Now if I could be so bold as to “tickle, rather pull your ear my way…” I have a proposition for you in the way of a recent post about co-conspirators please take a look and let me know what you think.
    Yeah I know unabashed solicitation and self-advertisement but I think it is for the good of us all…sort of an experiment of the collective creative process of the human culture…

    • just read your blog proposal & it’s very interesting to me because I, too, have been wanting to put my poetry to photography. Unfortunately, I’m a far cry from a “photographer” though, being more of an inspired picture taker. 🙂 Would love to throw around some ideas about putting poetry to pictures though & wish you quite well in it.

  4. Pingback: With Each Changing Seasons | this man's journey

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Changing Seasons (5) A Forest in Winter « What's (in) the picture?

  6. Pingback: Life’s uPS & DOwns (as depicted by Foster Falls) « humanTriumphant

  7. Pingback: Christmas Surprise?! « humanTriumphant

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

