Eye Detector (a playful poetic punch on beauty)

One of the Daily Prompts last week was:

Pick a random word and do a Google image search on it. Check out the eleventh picture it brings up. Write about whatever that image brings to mind. 

(Oh, I just remembered – the prompt was actually on October 30, by my cheating Internet search estimation – https://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/10/30/daily-prompt-5/ )

I looked up the word ‘Beauty’ and played around with creating the shell of this poem on that same day.

(Since I’ve already confessed to cheating, I may as well go ahead and confess that I chose the 12th image, rather than the 11th, because it better corresponded with my personal artistic expression of my poem’s title – Eye Detector, rather than EyeS Detector. (In the 11th image, both eyes were open. Surely, you can appreciate my conundrum and see your way to excuse my behavior.)

So I was all hyped up about this new poem. I was ready to roll.

Except, then I sort of got a little busy and had other places to see, people to do, things to stuff (or something along those lines). You get it…maybe I sort of just forgot. (Could you please excuse me again?)

My guilt has been overwhelmingly burdensome since the very moment I remembered I had slighted my responsibility to the entire blogging community (which was maybe about 15 minutes ago or so). I panicked. I realized that, to keep my blogosphere in its appropriate Zen balance, I’d better get around to pounding out my profound poetic pondering for your perusing pleasure. (See how I’m already getting back into balance?) Did I also mention you should copy this post to 5 friends within 5 minutes and ask each to send me $5 so that they can be prosperous and not break out in boils? (Or something sort of like that.)

Okay, so those are some of the not-so-beautiful problems we run into in life – cheating, bad excuses, guilt, imbalance, scams…

We probably find it a little easier to define (or at least agree upon) what beautiful is NOT rather than what it actually IS – or we should – because, in an ideal world, we should all celebrate seeing beauty somewhat differently. 

Unfortunately, in our world, beauty has rapidly become a multi-billion dollar industry, first and foremost. By industrializing it, we’ve allowed others to place it into an external concrete mold and thereby define it for us, robbing us of a more personalized, inner abstract concept of individual interpretations of loveliness.

I believe the happiest people (those who feel most beautiful inside) are the ones who try to search out beauty in all other things.

In shaping this poem, I’ve borrowed from the line of thought that ‘beauty is in the eye of the beholder,’

to which many have been credited with the idea of this line (at least indirectly), from Plato to Shakespeare to apparently even Miss Piggy, who expanded upon it by saying,

‘Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and it may be necessary from time to time to give a stupid or misinformed beholder a black eye.’

Indeed. So please playfully receive my poetic punch:

Eye Detector

Should beauty truly lie in the very eye

belonging to the beholder,

Discernment can begin, by its very end,

to drag one along like a boulder.

Standers-by reply to respond to it well nigh

turning in the wrong direction,

And told a time or two, with a tainted point of view,

will gain some poor perception.

Should not we dare to spy fairly into that soiled eye

Full of curiosity,

void of animosity,

and deeply ply to discover why

On occasion it might be resplendently conceived,

full of wise detection,

Though, oft at other times, so woefully disguised,

much in need of great correction?

© 2012 Jody Love
2 thoughts on “Eye Detector (a playful poetic punch on beauty)

  1. Pingback: Carpe Diem Haiku: Inner Beauty | humanTriumphant

  2. Pingback: Carpe Diem Haiku #582, Inner Beauty (July 2013) | humanTriumphant

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

