The Unique Path Carved for You

The paths each of us travels, both physical and spiritual, eternal or temporal, are always unique ones – becoming visual testimonies for us to share along life’s way.

The Unique Path Carved for You

The path I carved for you, dear child,
was often rugged, adventurous and wild.
Had it been smoothed with sand at each turn,
filled with sun, what shade would’ve prevented your burn?

And without the rain, your foot might’ve never touched mud,
but do you believe you, yourself, would’ve never found crud?
Your creek beds would have all gone dry.
At this, your life blood and spirit would have died.

Nor could I always supply you the breeze of the trees,
for you’d get too comfortable, sitting there on your knees.
Upon that breeze I sent your call
to follow a path to reach out to all.

And, yes, of course I expected you’d stray
to chart your own course, to go your own way.
But detours plenty I made to re-draw you near.
You are my creation – my child. I hold you dear.                                    

Sometimes your path may seem parched and dry.
Sometimes you’ll throw up your hands to ask why.
But if followed through, your hardship will be worth the bother,
to show others the way – to my living water.

© jody love 2013

the_cross

____________________________________________________________________________________________

I’m throwing this into a couple of pots this week, all happening by serendipity, I suppose. (Maybe not; maybe I just like that word.) I had been wanting to put up a post of various physical paths I’ve traveled, as I reflected on some of the spiritual paths I’ve had to encounter as of late.

As it just so happened (that’s where serendipity comes in), the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge came up on Friday with the ‘Unique’ prompt. I knew almost immediately that I wanted to pen a poem to go with some of my hiking photographs regarding how unique each of our life paths becomes; so I began scribbling away in the middle of church service this past Sunday. (Don’t tell my family; I’m sure they thought I was taking sermon notes. In my defense, I’m going to offer up that I was spiritually inspired.)

As far as poetry goes, I don’t think it’s my “best” piece in terms of complexity, by any stretch of the imagination. (It’s even a little “cruddy” – a play on a word that will come across as a ‘sticky’ point to the well-versed poet.) It’s in simple quatrains with rhymes ending in simple thoughts (a point of contention for the more contemporary, stylishly disdainful, misled-in-meaning beatnik-type poet — yeah, I’ve been in my twenties too; I get it – and I still like to break rules of conventionality). But I decided it needed to be simple if it was a Father speaking to His child, trying to simplify a very complicated subject matter (the difficulty of a spiritual journey). There was so much more I wanted to try to “squeeze in,” but TMI (too much information) can be a dangerous lesson, in and of itself (at least for my simple mind).

Then, I opened up the Trifecta Writing Challenge blog on Monday afternoon to discover the prompt for this week was ‘path.’ Encounters of the Serendipitous Kind? I’ll let you decide. <cue the eerie alien music>

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Trifecta Challenge: This week’s word is:

PATH
1: a trodden way
2: a track specially constructed for a particular use
3a : course, route
b : a way of life, conduct, or thought

Please remember:
  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone.  Please join us.
This week’s challenge is community-judged.
  • For the 12 hours following the close of the challenge, voting will be enabled on links.
  • In order to vote, return to this post where stars will appear next to each link.  To vote, simply click the star that corresponds with your favorite post.
  • You can vote for your top three favorite posts.
  • Voting is open to everyone. Encourage your friends to vote for you, if you wish, but please don’t tell them to vote on a number.  The numbering of the posts changes regularly, as authors have the ability to delete their own links at any time.
  • You have 12 hours to vote.  It’s not much time, so be diligent! We’ll send out reminders on Twitter and Facebook.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

20 thoughts on “The Unique Path Carved for You

    • from a parental perspective, I’ll agree that it’s sometimes (more oft than not?) excruciating – especially when it’s time to step back & let them choose a direction you can no longer travel – thanks for your comment

  1. Really enjoyed the poem & your pictures ,adding the personal touch.The poem brought to my mind a river’s journey -it’s various stages -till it reaches the sea,reminiscent of “The brook” by Tennyson:-)You are such a talented writer,like many others here, that I find myself wondering what I am doing trying to comment or post my amateurish stuff :P

    • Atreyee, you’re a very entertaining & talented writer. When you do something for your own soul’s delight, others will ultimately be drawn to it. And you do – and we are. And thank you for your very uplifting words to me (that flowed happily through like Tennyson’s brook). My soul’s flame is alight! :)

  2. I say ‘cruddy’ works fine :) I love the path pictures and the poem as well. My kids are still young, but before I know it, they’ll be carving their own path and I’ll need to just let them.

  3. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Earth « humanTriumphant

Go Ahead - Tickle My Ear...

